Lisa Sweany Named 2016-17 NACDA Under Armour AD of the Year

Lisa Sweany Named 2016-17 NACDA Under Armour AD of the Year

SAVANNAH, Ga. - Armstrong State University athletic director Lisa Sweany has been named a 2016-17 Under Armour Athletics Director of the Year for NCAA Division II, announced today by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA).

The award spans seven divisions (NCAA FBS, FCS, Division I-AAA, II, III, NAIA/Other Four-Year Institutions and Junior College/Community Colleges). Winners will be recognized during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, June 13 at NACDA's 52nd Annual Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

Sweany is one of four honorees in NCAA Division II. In her sixth season at the helm of Armstrong State University athletics, Armstrong State has experienced unprecedented success both on and off the playing field since she joined the Pirates in 2011.

Armstrong State won four straight Peach Belt Conference Commissioner's Cups from 2012-15, the league's All-Sports trophy, becoming the first league school to accomplish the feat since the University of North Florida from 1999-2004. 39 teams over the last six years have advanced to NCAA Championships play.

Armstrong State has also won a pair of Peach Belt Conference Presidential Academic Awards (2012-13 and 2013-14), while also capturing NCAA Division II national championships in men's tennis (2012) and women's tennis (2012, 2013, 2015 & 2016). 

On campus, Armstrong State has seen several improvements to its facilities with phase one of its new tennis complex opening this Fall, as well as new lights to the Armstrong State soccer field coming online in September 2016. The 2016-17 athletic year also marks the 50th Anniversary of Pirate athletics.

Sweany is the second Armstrong State University athletic director to earn the honor from Under Armor as Dr. Eddie Aenchbacher received the award in 2009.

Click here to view the complete listing of 2016-17 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year.